Project completed in 2020
Level: M.A.Sc.

Data quality assessment of BIM models for facility management

Abstract

The thesis discusses the limited implementation of Building Information Modeling (BIM) in the operation and maintenance phase of facilities, despite its potential benefits. The main reasons are the lack of expertise on the part of owners and operators to effectively use and update as-built BIM models, and the absence of industry standards to guarantee ease of use, interoperability and maintainability. The research aims to fill this gap by mapping as-built models to operation and maintenance requirements, creating a checklist of essential information in BIM models and developing tools to automate this process. A quality framework combining assurance and control is introduced to ensure that models are fit for purpose. The research also describes a quality management process during model development and delivery. Real construction projects were used to validate the effectiveness of the tools and procedures.

Project results

This research focused on improving the quality of building information modeling (BIM) models for facility operation and maintenance through a quality management (QM) framework. This framework uses BIM documentation and information requirements (IR) to establish a clear sequence of tasks for optimal FM-BIM delivery. It includes a checklist of essential and redundant elements, adapted to specific BIM creation software such as Revit, as well as a detailed process flow incorporating quality control (QC) tools.
Case studies of real projects were carried out to assess the effectiveness of the method at different stages and in different contexts. The results underline the need for project owners to define precise information and quality requirements, carry out quality control tasks during design and construction, and meet the challenges of manual quality control after project completion.

Project contributions

Research helps create more functional FM-BIM models, align with owners’ needs and, ultimately, improve the quality of building operations and profitability. However, there is potential for further automation through artificial intelligence and machine learning, as well as adjustments in contract models for seamless delivery of digital plant information. The applicability of the framework to different project types and stages deserves further exploration, as do considerations relating to data transfer and control in FM platforms. The emergence of OpenBIM platforms and BIM servers offers opportunities to meet these challenges.

Publications

Publications from this project are available below:

Motamedi, A., Leygonie, R., Forgues, D., & Vaudou, S. (2019) Process Re-Engineering in Owner Organizations to Improve BIM-Based Project Delivery Using Requirements Management Platform. 4th International Conference on Civil and Building Engineering Informatics (ICCBEI). https://www.researchgate.net/publication/339630638_Process_Re-Engineering_in_Owner_Organizations_to_Improve_BIM-Based_Project_Delivery_Using_Requirements_Management_Platform

Leygonie, R., Motamedi, A., & Iordanova, I. (2022) Development of quality improvement procedures and tools for facility management BIM. Developments in the Built Environment. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dibe.2022.100075

Research team

The project team :

Team

The project team

Thesis

Final project publication :

Partners

This project was supported by :

Similar research

Explore our research in more depth by exploring these related studies and resources:

Scroll to Top

Projet complété en 2020
Niveau : M.Sc.A.

Évaluation de la qualité des données des modèles BIM pour la gestion des installations

Abstract

La thèse traite de la mise en œuvre limitée de la modélisation de l’information sur les bâtiments (BIM) dans la phase d’exploitation et de maintenance des installations, malgré ses avantages potentiels. Les principales raisons sont le manque d’expertise des propriétaires et des opérateurs pour utiliser et mettre à jour efficacement les modèles BIM tels qu’ils ont été construits, ainsi que l’absence de normes industrielles pour garantir la facilité d’utilisation, l’interopérabilité et la maintenabilité. La recherche vise à combler cette lacune en établissant des correspondances entre les modèles conformes à l’exécution et les exigences d’exploitation et de maintenance, en créant une liste de contrôle des informations essentielles dans les modèles BIM et en développant des outils pour automatiser ce processus. Un cadre de qualité combinant l’assurance et le contrôle est introduit pour garantir que les modèles sont adaptés aux opérations. La recherche décrit également un processus de gestion de la qualité au cours du développement et de la remise du modèle. Des projets de construction réels ont été utilisés pour valider l’efficacité des outils et des procédures.

Résultats du projet

Cette recherche s’est concentrée sur l’amélioration de la qualité des modèles de modélisation de l’information du bâtiment (BIM) pour l’exploitation et la maintenance des installations grâce à un cadre de gestion de la qualité (QM). Ce cadre utilise la documentation BIM et les exigences en matière d’information (IR) pour établir une séquence claire de tâches en vue d’une livraison FM-BIM optimale. Il comprend une liste de contrôle des éléments essentiels et redondants, adaptée à un logiciel de création de BIM spécifique tel que Revit, ainsi qu’un flux de processus détaillé intégrant des outils de contrôle de la qualité (CQ).
Des études de cas portant sur des projets réels ont été menées afin d’évaluer l’efficacité de la méthode à différentes étapes et dans différents contextes. Les résultats soulignent la nécessité pour les maîtres d’ouvrage de définir des exigences précises en matière d’information et de qualité, d’effectuer des tâches de contrôle de la qualité pendant la conception et la construction, et de relever les défis du contrôle manuel de la qualité après l’achèvement du projet.

Contributions du projet

La recherche contribue à créer des modèles FM-BIM plus fonctionnels, à s’aligner sur les besoins des propriétaires et, en fin de compte, à améliorer la qualité de l’exploitation des bâtiments et la rentabilité. Cependant, il existe un potentiel d’automatisation supplémentaire grâce à l’intelligence artificielle et à l’apprentissage automatique, ainsi que des ajustements dans les modèles de contrat pour une livraison transparente d’informations numériques sur les installations. L’applicabilité du cadre à différents types de projets et à différentes étapes mérite d’être explorée plus avant, de même que les considérations relatives au transfert et au contrôle des données dans les plateformes de FM. L’émergence des plateformes OpenBIM et des serveurs BIM offre des possibilités de relever ces défis.

Publications

Les publications de ce projet sont disponibles ci-dessous :

Motamedi, A., Leygonie, R., Forgues, D., & Vaudou, S. (2019) Process Re-Engineering in Owner Organizations to Improve BIM-Based Project Delivery Using Requirements Management Platform. 4th International Conference on Civil and Building Engineering Informatics (ICCBEI). https://www.researchgate.net/publication/339630638_Process_Re-Engineering_in_Owner_Organizations_to_Improve_BIM-Based_Project_Delivery_Using_Requirements_Management_Platform

Leygonie, R., Motamedi, A., & Iordanova, I. (2022) Development of quality improvement procedures and tools for facility management BIM. Developments in the Built Environment. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dibe.2022.100075

Équipe de recherche

L’équipe chargée de ce projet :

Équipe

L’équipe chargée de ce projet

Thèse

Publication finale du projet :

Partenaires

Ce projet a été supporté par :

Recherches similaires

Explorez plus en profondeur notre recherche en explorant ces études et ressources connexes :

Scroll to Top