Gabriel Jobidon

Associate Professor (LL.B, MBA, M.Sc., LL.D.)

Department of Construction Engineering, Ecole de Technologie Supérieure (ETS)

About me

Presentation

Gabriel holds a doctorate in law from Université Laval, a master’s degree in environmental management, a master’s degree in business administration and a bachelor’s degree in law from Université de Sherbrooke. He has worked on numerous public infrastructure projects, both as an employee of public agencies and as a consultant. He specializes in construction tenders, with an emphasis on alternative construction methods. He is particularly interested in relational and collaborative contracts such as Integrated Project Management and Alliance.

Construction methods cover the planning, design, construction, financing, operation and maintenance of the infrastructure. While clients have historically turned to traditional methods (general contracting), they are increasingly turning their attention to alternative methods (CC, CCF, CCFE, CCFEE) or collaborative methods (management, integrated project management). In collaboration with our industry partners, we participate in the evolution of these modes, in the determination of best legal and commercial practices, and in the evaluation of their performance.

The Quebec legislative and regulatory framework applicable to construction projects is particularly concerned with issues of corruption, collusion, integrity and compliance. Without minimizing these issues, the fact remains that questions of effectiveness, efficiency, value, quality and environmental performance have been neglected. With our partners, we are working to ensure that this framework evolves to deliver high-performance infrastructure, and that it meets broader societal objectives, such as responsible procurement, or the quest for resilience and adaptation to climate change in the standards of different levels of government.

The grass is always greener next door… but not always! Comparison is a method of legal research that enables us to criticize our own rules. Confrontation with other economic and cultural realities allows new practices to emerge.

Relational contract theory seeks to foster long-term collaboration between the parties involved in a contract. The latter is based on mutual trust and flexibility, to minimize sources of conflict and the unforeseen events that are bound to arise in the course of the relationship. This vision is opposed to that of so-called transactional contracts. This type of agreement is based on “discrete” transactions, i.e. transactions that are not part of a past history and with no consideration for future relationships. In short, a unique offer entails hidden costs, known as “transaction costs”, such as legal and financial fees.

Teaching

The prof. Jobidon is responsible for the courses following :

Scroll to Top

Gabriel Jobidon

Professeur agrégé (LL.B, MBA, M.Sc., LL.D.)

Département de génie de la construction , École de Technologie Supérieure (ÉTS)

À propos de moi

Présentation

Gabriel détient un doctorat en droit de l’Université Laval, une maîtrise en gestion de l’environnement, une maîtrise en administration des affaires ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il a travaillé sur de multiples projets d’infrastructure publique, tant comme employé d’organismes publics que comme consultant. Il est spécialisé dans les appels d’offres du secteur de la construction et principalement dans les modes de réalisation alternatifs. Il s’intéresse particulièrement aux contrats relationnels et collaboratifs comme la Réalisation de projet intégrée et l’Alliance.

Les modes de réalisation encadrent la planification, la conception, la construction, le financement, l’exploitation et la maintenance de l’infrastructure. Alors que les donneurs d’ouvrage se sont historiquement tournés vers les modes dits traditionnels (entreprise générale), de plus en plus les regards se tournent vers les modes alternatifs (CC, CCF, CCFE, CCFEE) ou collaboratifs (gérance, réalisation de projet intégrée). En collaboration avec nos partenaires industriels, nous participons à l’évolution de ces modes, à la détermination des meilleures pratiques juridiques et commerciales ainsi qu’à l’évaluation de leur performance.

Le cadre législatif et réglementaire québécois applicable aux projets de construction s’intéresse particulièrement aux questions de corruption, de collusion, d’intégrité et de conformité. Sans minimiser ces questions, il n’en demeure pas moins que les questions d’efficacité, d’efficience, de valeur, d’obtention de la qualité et de performance environnementale ont été négligées. Grâce à nos partenaires, nous cherchons à faire évoluer ce cadre pour qu’il permette l’obtention d’infrastructures performantes et afin qu’il accomplisse des objectifs sociétaux plus larges, comme l’approvisionnement responsable, ou bien la recherche de résilience et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques dans les normes des différents paliers gouvernementaux.

L’herbe est toujours plus vert chez le voisin… mais pas toujours! La comparaison est une méthode de recherche juridique permettant de critiquer nos propres règles. La confrontation à d’autres réalités économiques et culturelles permet de faire émerger de nouvelles pratiques.

La théorie du contrat relationnel cherche à favoriser une collaboration à long terme entre les parties prenantes à un contrat. Ce dernier repose sur la confiance mutuelle et la flexibilité afin de réduire au possible les sources de conflits et les imprévus devant certainement advenir au courant de la relation. Cette vision s’oppose à celle des contrats dits transactionnels. Ce type d’entente repose sur des transactions «discrètes », c’est-à-dire des transactions ne s’inscrivant pas dans un historique passé et sans considération pour les relations futures. Bref, une offre unique qui entraîne des coûts cachés, dits « coûts de transaction », comme les frais juridiques et financiers. 

Enseignement

Le prof. Jobidon est responsable des cours suivants :

Scroll to Top